LANDscanning

2009-02-13-09-39-18Commenced series of LANDscans at Thirning Villa titled “Fallen” capturing the debris fallen from the surrounding trees in Ashfield.

‚ÄúLANDScans of Landscapes of Unnatural and Natural Beauty”

Are a series of photographic scans I commenced in 2014 during my Australia Council Residency in Liverpool, UK. Below is the conceptual ideas behind the works.

These images, are captured by a hand held scanner, an instrument that has become an extension of myself, as a natural and familiar process. Just like extending your hand to touch and engage with the rich textures of a new environment, instinctively I want to touch  however in this case I can scan. So when my hand moves over these vastly different surfaces, my scanner effortlessly records this engagement, even my staggered movements or my digital dirt as I call it are permanently stored as textural memories of the engagement of place.
The images captured are created by factors both intentional and unintentional which are strongly influenced by the moment of capture, discreet segments of place, points in time, samples of the surrounding environment which later revealed layered records of the impact of occupation, motion and time. Every interaction leaves its mark including my own.
Leave a Reply

